Foresight Cognitive Systems Initiative

Proceedings of the Workshop on

Speech, Language and Human Computer Interaction

 

Robinson College, Cambridge 28th/29th June 2004

1. Introduction

This workshop was held as a follow-on to the Foresight - Cognitive Systems Project InterAction Conference held in Bristol in September 2003.  The workshop brought together 30 representatives of the UK speech and language research community with the aim of generating specific fundable research projects which cut across traditional discipline boundaries.  In particular, the workshop set out to understand the opportunities offered by cognitive neuroscience to inform the development of artificial cognitive systems and vice versa.

The workshop programme consisted of three main parts which are listed below.

2. Background briefings

3 Specific project ideas suggested in advance of the meeting

a) abstracts submitted prior to the workshop

b) selected presentations at the workshop

4. Breakout sessions to identify substantive research programmes

a) 1st Session - Theme-based Projects

b) 2nd Session - Interdisciplinary Projects

5. List of Attendees

Anne Anderson Glasgow University anne at psy.gla.ac.uk
Mark Andrews University College London mark at gatsby.ucl.ac.uk
Martin Cooke Sheffield University m.cooke at dcs.shef.ac.uk
Ann Copestake Cambridge University Ann.Copestake at cl.cam.ac.uk
Stephen Cox University of East Anglia sjc at cmp.uea.ac.uk
Matt Davis MRC CBU matt.davis at mrc-cbu.cam.ac.uk
John Fox Cancer Research UK Ltd john.fox at cancer.org.uk
Mark Gales Cambridge University mjfg at eng.cam.ac.uk
Simon  Garrod Glasgow University simon at psy.gla.ac.uk
Gareth  Gaskell  York University g.gaskell at psych.york.ac.uk
Phil Green Sheffield University p.green at dcs.shef.ac.uk
William Marslen-Wilson MRC CBU william.marslen-wilson at mrc-cbu.cam.ac.uk
Johanna Moore Edinburgh University j.moore at ed.ac.uk
Roger Moore 2020 Speech r.moore at 2020speech.com
Andy Parker Cambridge University parker at hep.phy.cam.ac.uk
Roy Patterson Cambridge University rdp1 at cam.ac.uk
Martin Pickering Edinburgh University Martin.Pickering at ed.ac.uk
Friedemann Pulvermuller MRC CBU friedemann.pulvermuller at mrc-cbu.cam.ac.uk
Steve Renals Edinburgh University s.renals at ed.ac.uk
Martin Russell Birmingham University m.j.russell at bham.ac.uk
Leslie Smith Stirling University l.s.smith at cs.stir.ac.uk
Antonella Sorace Edinburgh University antonella at ling.ed.ac.uk
Mark Steedman Edinburgh University steedman at inf.ed.ac.uk
Marcus Tomalin Cambridge University mt126 at eng.cam.ac.uk
Lorraine Tyler Cambridge University lktyler at csl.psychol.cam.ac.uk
Gabriella Vigliocco University College London g.vigliocco at ucl.ac.uk
Marilyn Walker Sheffield University m.a.walker at sheffield.ac.uk
Jason Williams Cambridge University jdw30 at eng.cam.ac.uk
Steve Young Cambridge University sjy at eng.cam.ac.uk

 

 

Steve Young
July 2004