Foresight Cognitive Systems Initiative

Proceedings of the Workshop on

Speech, Language and Human Computer Interaction


Robinson College, Cambridge 28th/29th June 2004

1. Introduction

This workshop was held as a follow-on to the Foresight - Cognitive Systems Project InterAction Conference held in Bristol in September 2003.  The workshop brought together 30 representatives of the UK speech and language research community with the aim of generating specific fundable research projects which cut across traditional discipline boundaries.  In particular, the workshop set out to understand the opportunities offered by cognitive neuroscience to inform the development of artificial cognitive systems and vice versa.

The workshop programme consisted of three main parts which are listed below.

2. Background briefings

3 Specific project ideas suggested in advance of the meeting

a) abstracts submitted prior to the workshop

b) selected presentations at the workshop

4. Breakout sessions to identify substantive research programmes

a) 1st Session - Theme-based Projects

b) 2nd Session - Interdisciplinary Projects

5. List of Attendees

Anne Anderson Glasgow University anne at
Mark Andrews University College London mark at
Martin Cooke Sheffield University m.cooke at
Ann Copestake Cambridge University Ann.Copestake at
Stephen Cox University of East Anglia sjc at
Matt Davis MRC CBU matt.davis at
John Fox Cancer Research UK Ltd at
Mark Gales Cambridge University mjfg at
Simon  Garrod Glasgow University simon at
Gareth  Gaskell  York University g.gaskell at
Phil Green Sheffield University at
William Marslen-Wilson MRC CBU william.marslen-wilson at
Johanna Moore Edinburgh University j.moore at
Roger Moore 2020 Speech r.moore at
Andy Parker Cambridge University parker at
Roy Patterson Cambridge University rdp1 at
Martin Pickering Edinburgh University Martin.Pickering at
Friedemann Pulvermuller MRC CBU friedemann.pulvermuller at
Steve Renals Edinburgh University s.renals at
Martin Russell Birmingham University m.j.russell at
Leslie Smith Stirling University l.s.smith at
Antonella Sorace Edinburgh University antonella at
Mark Steedman Edinburgh University steedman at
Marcus Tomalin Cambridge University mt126 at
Lorraine Tyler Cambridge University lktyler at
Gabriella Vigliocco University College London g.vigliocco at
Marilyn Walker Sheffield University m.a.walker at
Jason Williams Cambridge University jdw30 at
Steve Young Cambridge University sjy at



Steve Young
July 2004